PolySwarm

This page is available in English.

Está página está disponible en español.

このページは日本語でもご利用いただけます。

이 페이지는 한국어로만 표시됩니다.

简体中文版

繁體中文版

PolySwarm 引入了威胁悬赏

更多信息

常见问题

如果您在下面找不到您想要的内容, 请访问我们的 电报。关于技术问题,请访问我们的 Discord

市场

如果需要100-200个资金充足的黑客通过长时间建立声誉,并最终冒着毁坏声誉的风险,向一部分大使隐瞒一些恶意软件,我会说我们赢了。这个门槛远远高于今天的现状 - 这比今天逃避反病毒软件所需的成本要高得多。

任何系统都不可能百分之百完美,包括 PolySwarm,但是如果需要这些资源来发起这样的攻击,PolySwarm 要比现在的环境好得多。

我们有一个多管齐下的方法,分别针对企业、代表和安全专家提供入门帮助。

从高层次来看,我们将培养网络效应,宣传企业对安全专家的兴趣(更多可获得的赏金),然后宣传安全专家对代表和企业的兴趣(越来越高质量的威胁情报)。这种双面效应会自然地鼓励双方接纳对方。

1. 赞助 PolySwarm 集成到现有的事件响应(IR)和防御工具包中。

PolySwarm 将提供花蜜币赏金(来自Swarm Technologies公司)作为对广泛使用的IR、防御和鉴定工具包开放源码贡献的奖励。具体而言,我们将针对开源项目,如 Facebook的 osquery 和 SlashKit/Autopsy。

通过这些工具让使用 PolySwarm 非常简单,PolySwarm 完美的融入到现有的工作流程中。一些用户将选择倾向于 PolySwarm 并且任何这样的倾向优势都将有助于创建网络效果。

2. 与现有的威胁情报供应商合作,提供早期仲裁,以鼓励加入网络。

现有的威胁情报公司希望成为 PolySwarm 生态系统中的仲裁者。PolySwarm 将在选择仲裁者时提供指定的仲裁关系,以帮助引导网络。这将是限时优惠,之后,仲裁员必须保持高生态系统吞吐量以维持其地位。

3. 针对信息安全专业知识的黑客马拉松,竞赛和赞助,重点放在已经大量参与漏洞悬赏项目的市场。

这一个非常容易理解。我们将特别针对东欧、亚洲、拉丁美洲和南美洲的信息安全会议。

在前一个问题的回答中提到了一点。

除了上面的回应之外,PolySwarm 还计划举办一个 Nectar-for-artifact 悬赏计划,以帮助在网络中构建一个“swarmed”工件库,并让初始用户加入。安全专家将收到花蜜令牌以奖励他们在 Beta 期间的 “swarming” 恶意样本。在仲裁人确立之前,主网的结论将以外包的方式确定。

除了这种大众的市场方法,所有的创始人和我们的许多朋友和同事都在信息安全行业工作。他们中的许多人拥有定制的恶意软件分析工具,这些工具是为他们的工作或爱好开发的,这些工具可以被重新配置成微引擎。

我们在会议和活动中与具有构建和运行微引擎技术技能的研究生和博士生交谈,这些学生由于国籍或家庭位置的选择,无法在网络安全公司找到工作。

高质量的安全专家就在那里,我们给他们提供了参与的途径。

PolySwarm 将让像 Palo Alto 这样的公司能够通过征求大众对其不确定文件的意见来增强他们的产品。现在,他们向 VirusTotal 伸出援助之手(为此他们付出了丰厚的代价)。将来,使用 PolySwarm,他们将在没有中间人的情况下获得更广泛的安全专业知识(VirusTotal 由Google所有)。

从企业的角度来看,如果 Palo Alto 加入 PolySwarm,企业将得到更好的检测率。Palo Alto 将节省金钱,理想情况下,这些节省的资金将转嫁给客户。在 PolySwarm 生态系统中,Palo Alto(PA)是一个“代表”。

是的,更具体地说它是一组智能合约,定义了如何获取威胁情报以及如何奖励精准的威胁情报市场。

我们希望一些大型企业能够直接参与市场(绕过代表),我们的一个重要目标是使大使尽可能容易被接触到 - 在当今你需要找投资,营销,人力资源等,以建立像 Palo Alto Networks 的公司。将来,我们希望围绕每位大使的表现的原始统计数据,加上市场的自主性,将允许更精简的运营 - 如果你愿意,那将是微型大使 - 这将不适合当今的市场,但会在 PolySwarm 中茁壮成长。

换句话说,只有少数人可以在 VirusTotal 上被列为供应商,但任何人都可以称自己为 PolySwarm 代表。代表们必须保持其服务质量和声誉,以吸引企业和最终用户作为客户。

在 PolySwarm 市场,一个代表提交一个请求要求安全专家分析可疑样本,例如文件、URL 或网络流量。提交到市场的请求有两种形式。

第一种是西部荒野通缉海报的风格,叫做“悬赏”,向所有安全专家开放。如“通缉令”,恶意还是非恶意的?第二种形式是针对特定安全专家的直接“报价”。如,“ Anderson 先生,你有时间看看这个文件吗?”我给你0.15 NCT 来告诉我它是恶意的还是非恶意的。”

安全专家将他们的专业知识下存储自动分析工具中,称为“微引擎”。它将处理一个样本,如果 a) 支持它,b) 安全专家认为支付是合理的。所有的分析结果都提供给大使,然后仲裁员审查结果以确定哪些是正确的。最后,所有快速提供正确结果的安全专家都可以获得花蜜令牌作为报酬!

非常好的的问题(所有这些都是很好的问题)如果真相是错误的(仲裁人是错误的),这可能是意味的以下两件之一:(1) 仲裁人确实弄错 了(2)仲裁人是恶意的。

对于#1,PolySwarm 将像今天的市场纠正自己一样纠正自己—一个供应商检测 WannaCry,发布它,获得市场效益,其他供应商跳上检测潮流。如果他们对此更加尖锐,则供应商X会揭露供应商Y,因为Y未能保护客户免受只能由X检测到的威胁。再说一遍,这里的好处是市场营销改变。这个过程是从核心市场外部发生的—它是一个由赢得客户的自然愿望驱动的反馈循环。这就是它在今天的运行方式,也将是 PolySwarm 的运行方式。

对于#2,这更加复杂。我认为保持参与者可信度/声誉记录是最好的解决办法。这不是要被构建在市场内部的东西,而是我们希望出现的那些 “二级市场” 的增值服务之一。

此外,我们认为会出现一个二级市场,即保险。我们认为,一些专家可能希望为每项断言收取少量的费用,以防止他们的断言和仲裁不符合。这种方式如何运作可能因司法管辖范围而大不相同,因此很难确定。当然,可以让商业实体接受一项使用条款,包含此类责任的讨论。

Alvin Roth 写了一本很棒的书,名为《Who Gets What and Why》。他谈到了很多事情的市场设计:器官捐赠,公立学校抽签,以及医生如何被选为住院医师。我们认为,赏金和报价是激励专家们做我们想做的事,发现威胁,同时仍然提供奖励他们的能力的最佳方式。

特别地,对于赏金,它们是基于预测市场的概念。我们需要一种方法,让多个安全专家权衡文件的恶意,并且不会因为每一个专家的加入而使奖励变小。所以如果感觉像 “地牢和龙”,那就怪市场设计和博弈论吧!这也是为什么我们聘请了首席经济学家 Evelyn 来监测市场的表现,并对赏金数额,费用和其他设置给出建议,将有助于使市场对参与者而言既丰厚(理解:足够多的有吸引力的交易)又安全。

测试网目前处于非公开邀请模式,我们计划在与我们的初始引擎和微引擎提供商完成非公开测试/调整之后向公众开放。

安全产业

终端用户将因为接触到价值更高的服务而从 PolySwarm 中受益。我们不期望大多数终端用户直接与 PolySwarm 网络交互;这是代表所扮演的角色。

PolySwarm 代表将是今天熟悉的、现有的 AV 公司(如 AVAST )以及由 PolySwarm 的经济模式所带来的新公司。

我们期望看到新的公司担任大使,作为通往 PolySwarm 网络的直接渠道。这些新公司将收取终端用户订阅费,用以提供到 PolySwarm 网络的便捷连接,并代表终端用户客户处理赏金和报价。这种新型公司几乎肯定会比今天看到的单一产品成本更低。我们相信,这将为终端用户带来更好的价值。

总之,PolySwarm 众包生态系统设计,为防病毒解决方案的订阅用户提供更广泛、更经济、更精准的保护。

这是一个不同的市场,我们祝愿他们成功。 Hacken 正在使针对企业网站和软件漏洞的赏金去中心化,基本上是安全专家针对独特目标进行手动分析。

我们对漏洞赏金市场非常熟悉:平均交易价值为每个赏金400-500美元。 Hacken 的市场需要人工审查来评估是否赢得赏金。一年可能有大约1000笔交易。

相反,PolySwarm 处理的是那种可以*自动*的威胁情报,例如反病毒。全世界的反病毒公司每天都会看到数十亿的样本,而且可能有数百万的样本是独一无二的。每个文件/网址/样本扫描的交易价值范围为0.0025-0.015美元。 PolySwarm 中的所有微引擎和绝大多数 ”真正事实“都将实现自动化。

手工检查一个较小的二进制文件需要花费一到两天的时间。更大的应用程序,会花费很多天甚至几个星期。

在过去的20年中,我们拥有相同的威胁检测经济模型:集中化,在当地雇用一小组开发人员,并在公司实现客户稳定性后,优先考虑研发和解决当前的威胁。

基于特征查杀的防病毒公司试图解决常见的“已知的”恶意软件,但往往无法检测到新的威胁。单一供应商解决方案的市场奖励跨供应商的重复工作,不鼓励对特殊检测功能的投资,并鼓励通过互不兼容的软件包锁定供应商。

这些公司的构建方式是奖励那些追逐广泛使用的软件的威胁的行为。他们被财务激励去追逐大的威胁以维持一个庞大的客户群。尽管普遍存在的脆弱性确实令人担忧,但作为个体的我们每个人更可能受到的是威胁较小的一般攻击。

我们的论点是:安全专业知识在竞争激烈的环境中会更好地应用,他们会被激励以保持最新状态。这就是我们试图填补的空白:使其不断盈利并为用户提供更精准的保护。

PolySwarm 是一个去中心化的反病毒和网络威胁情报市场,由以太智能合约和区块链技术合成。

PolySwarm 将企业、消费者、供应商和世界各地安全专家集合在一起,形成一个更完整的网络威胁检测市场。专家们在生态系统中建立反恶意软件 “微引擎”,并以竞争的方式保护用户。数千个“微引擎”的联合保护,为企业和用户提供前所未有的快速和准确的威胁检测。

(Steve,首席执行官)我在加利福尼亚州的一个小农镇长大。我11岁的时候,闯入了一家公司的电脑,他们抓住了我,但是一些IT人员庇护了我,给了我一份暑期工作,直到高中毕业。这就是我如何在安全领域起步的。从那时起,我和我的团队建立了 Narf 工业,为从 DARPA 到商业客户的每个人做了很多很酷的项目。我们也参加过很多黑客竞赛,比如在黑客大会上玩 CTFs 之类的游戏。

因对大环境的沮丧 PolySwarm 的理念在此诞生了!我们 Narf Industries(小型专业信息安全公司)拥有先进的工具,却没有通向市场的渠道。所以,我们采取了工程师会采取的行动:开发能针对问题的解决方案 - PolySwarm。这也是 PolySwarm 的切入点:它提供了一个由最优秀的安全专家集合而成的网络威胁情报市场。

这个经济学问题:总是鼓励安全专家更新他们的解决方案,以便更好地保护用户免受新的威胁。这个问题很重要,因为它通过在广泛的角度上增加对防御的报酬和警戒,最终增加了攻击者的成本。

区块链

我们目前正在开发一种能够让安全专家参与的压力测试。安全专家将能够将我们链接到可疑文件,以换取花蜜令牌。这些可疑文件将在以太坊测试网上进行赏金悬赏,测试我们的智能合约,并将由我们进行扫描(模仿安全专家)。我们的扫描将由 ClamAV(一个开源AV)完成。专家将因提交独特样本(并帮助我们进行压力测试)而获得奖励。我们会通过Telegram频道公布会获得奖金的特定恶意软件种类,每天最多一个样本。 PolySwarm 针对的是安全专家,而 Crypto Kitties 针对的则是大众。我们正在建设的内容应该更受到兴趣限制。此外,PolySwarm 还有内置费用来阻止大批量无意义操作。

有几个原因,但最重要的是,令牌使生态系统免受美元:ETH 汇率快速波动的影响。如果安全专家在得到更优惠的汇率之前不提供他们的专业知识,那将是非常糟糕的。通过拥有我们自己的令牌,令牌的实用程序会密切追踪 PolySwarm 网络提供的威胁情报的效用,无论美元:ETH 汇率如何,都可以毫无顾忌地提供专业知识。

Nectar 是 PolySwarm 的花蜜令牌,它允许企业和用户从安全专家那里获得威胁检测服务,它基本上被用作市场内所有交易的货币。

区块链技术 - 分布式,仅附加分类账,为分布式计算平台打开了大门。以太坊就是这样一个平台 - 允许任何人编写智能合约并以分布式,信任最小的方式执行它们。我们正在使用智能合约进行智能设计 - 从字面上规划道路规则:市场参与者如何互动。什么样的行为得到回报。如何奖励分散等等。以太坊为程序化,智能化的市场设计提供了基础 - 这是4年前不可能实现的。 PolySwarm 是将这种原语应用于威胁情报领域 - 这是 PolySwarm 团队非常熟悉的。 PolySwarm 将提供更好的激励措施 - 全球,众包,安全专家社区将相互竞争,以最好地保护企业和最终用户。所有人都可以看到经济力学。

Nectar 用于将 PolySwarm 与外部市场力量隔离开来,包括以太币(ETH)的价值和在用太币交易的应用程序的性能。基于花蜜令牌的隔离将使 PolySwarm 市场行为更加一致,使参与者能够更有信心地进行交易并减少可能损害 PolySwarm 市场的不正当奖励措施。

我们有几种策略来应对拥堵问题。首先,赏金将支持“批处理”样本。我的意思是,大使可以一次性提交一组256个样本,而不会产生单个费用。同样,断言也可以批量处理。其次,我们的报价机制使用雷电网络微通道进行离线交易并定期结算。最后,我们期待以太坊的 Plasma 和 Casper 可扩展性改进。如果他们顺利,没有问题。如果不顺利,我们会考虑在我们自己的赏金和报价设计中采用 merkle 哈希树,并探索其他区块链,如 QTUM 和 EOS 等。不幸的是,还没有其他区块链足够成熟。

找不到您想要的?

如果找不到你想要的东西,请随时访问我们的 Telegram!有关技术问题,请查看我们的 Discord。

PolySwarm

This page is available in English.

This page is available in 日本語.

Latest Update: Xvirus joins the PolySwarm network.

Learn More

Frequently asked questions

If you can't find what you're looking for below, feel free to visit our Telegram. For technical questions, check out our Discord.

Marketplace

If it takes 100-200 well financed hackers to build reputation over time and ultimately risk burning that reputation to hide some malware from a subset of ambassadors, I'd say we've won. That bar is far higher than today's status quo - this is a much more costly endeavor than what is required to evade AV today.

No system can be 100% perfect, including PolySwarm, but PolySwarm is far better than today's environment if such resources are required to pull off such an attack.

We have a multi-pronged approach, targeting enterprise, ambassador and security expert onboarding, respectively.

At a high level, we will foster a network effect, playing enterprise interest toward security experts (more bounties available) and then security expert interest toward ambassadors and enterprises (increasingly quality threat intelligence). This two-sided effect will naturally encourage uptake on the opposite side.

<b>1. Sponsor PolySwarm integration into existing incident response (IR) and defensive toolkits.</b>

PolySwarm will offer Nectar bounties (from Swarm Technologies, Inc’s holding) as reward for open source contributions to widely used IR, defense and forensics toolkits. Specifically, we will target open source projects like Facebook’s osquery, and The Sleuth Kit / Autopsy.

By making it trivial to use PolySwarm with these tools, PolySwarm seamlessly plugs into existing workflows. Some users will choose to leverage PolySwarm and any such leverage will help create a network effect.

<b>2. Partnership with existing threat intelligence vendors, offering early Arbitership as incentive to plug into the network.</b>

Existing threat intelligence companies will desire to become Arbiters in the PolySwarm ecosystem. PolySwarm will offer designated arbitership to chosen Arbiters to help bootstrap the network. This will be limited time offer, after which Arbiter must maintain high ecosystem throughput to maintain their status.

<b>3. Hackathons, competitions and sponsorship directed toward information security expertise, with an emphasis toward markets that already participate heavily in vulnerability bug bounty programs.</b>

This one is pretty self-explanatory. We will target information security conferences in Eastern Europe, Asia, Latin and South America in particular.

This was alluded to a little in the previous question and response.

In addition to the response above, PolySwarm plans to host a Nectar-for-artifact bounty program to help build a corpus of "swarmed" artifacts in the network and get initial people onboard. Security experts will receive Nectar in response to "swarming" malicious artifacts during this Beta period. Prior to Arbiter establishment, malintent determination will be outsourced.

Beyond this mass market approach, all of the founders and many of our friends and colleagues work in the Information Security industry. Many of them have custom malware analysis tools that they develop for their work or hobbies that could be reconfigured to work as micro-engines.

We speak with graduate and PhD students at conferences and events that have the technical skills to build and run micro-engines, but cannot get jobs at cyber security companies due to their nationality or choice of home location.

The quality security experts are out there, and we are giving them the means to participate.

PolySwarm will enable companies like Palo Alto to enhance their offerings by being able to solicit crowdsourced opinion on files they're unsure of. Today, they reach out to VirusTotal (and pay handsomely to do so). Tomorrow, with PolySwarm, they'll get access to a broader set of security expertise without a middle man (VirusTotal is owned by Google).

From the enterprise perspective, should Palo Alto plug into PolySwarm, the enterprise will see better detection rates. Palo Alto will save money and ideally those savings will be passed down to the customer. In the PolySwarm ecosystem, Palo Alto (PA) is an "Ambassador".

Yes. More specifically, it's a set of smart contracts that define how threat intelligence is sourced and how good threat intelligence is rewarded at the expense of bad (inaccurate) threat intelligence.

We expect some larger enterprises to participate directly in the marketplace (bypassing Ambassadors) and one of our big goals is make Ambassadorship as accessible as possible -- today you need funding rounds, marketing, HR, etc, etc, to build a company like Palo Alto Networks. Tomorrow, we hope that the raw statistics surrounding each Ambassadors’ performance, coupled with the autonomous nature of the market will allow for more streamlined operations - mini-Ambassadors if you will - that wouldn't fit into today's market, but would thrive in PolySwarm.

In other words, only few can get listed as a vendor on VirusTotal, but anyone can call themselves an Ambassador on PolySwarm. Ambassadors will have to maintain their quality of service and reputation to attract enterprises and end users as customers.

In the PolySwarm marketplace, an Ambassador submits a request asking Security Experts to analyze a suspicious artifact, such as files, URLs, or network traffic. The requests submitted into the marketplace come in two forms.

The first is in the style of a Wild-West wanted poster, called a "Bounty", and is open to all Security Experts to respond. Think, "WANTED, Malicious? or Benign? The second is in the form of a direct "Offer", which is directed at a specific security expert. Think, "Mr Anderson, do you have time to take a look at this file? I’ll give you 0.15 NCT to tell me if it is Malicious or Benign."

Security Experts download their expertise into automated analysis tools, called "micro-engines". That will process an artifact if a) it supports it, and b) the Security Expert thinks the payment is worthwhile. All analysis results are provided to the Ambassador, then the Arbiters review results to determine which are correct. Finally, all Security Experts that provided correct results fast get paid in Nectar!

Excellent question (all of these are excellent questions)! If ground truth is wrong (Arbiters are wrong), this could be mean one of two things: (1) the Arbiter honestly got it incorrect, (2) the Arbiter is malicious.

For #1, PolySwarm will correct itself much like today's market corrects itself - one vendor detects WannaCry, publishes it, reaps marketing benefit, other vendors jump on the detection bandwagon. If they're more pointed about it, Vendor X calls out Vendor Y for failing to protect customers against a threat that Vendor X uniquely identifies. Again, the benefit here is a marketing coup. This process happens externally from the core market - it's a feedback loop driven by a natural desire to win customers. It's how it works today and how it'll work in PolySwarm.

For #2, this is more complex. I believe this is best addressed by maintaining a record of trustworthiness of participants / reputation. This is not something that will be built into the market, but one of those "secondary market" value-added services we expect to arise.

Additionally, a secondary market we think will spring up, namely insurance. We think some experts may want to pay a nominal fee per assertion to insure their assertion against arbiter failure. How that works probably varies so widely by jurisdiction that it’s hard to pin down. Of course, Commercial entities could be made to accept a terms of use that make this sort of liability moot.

There’s a great book called "Who Gets What and Why" by Alvin Roth. He talks about market design for a ton of things: organ donation, public school lotteries, and how doctors get picked for residency. We felt that bounties and offers were the best ways to incentivize experts to do what we wanted, detect threats, while still providing the ability to reward them.

For bounties, specifically, they’re based around the prediction market concept. We needed a way to have multiple security experts weigh in on the malintent of files without shrinking the reward pile each time one weighed in. So if it feels dungeons and dragons, blame market design and game theory! This is also why we’ve hired a Chief Economist, Evelyn, who is here to monitor the performance of the marketplaces and suggest bounty amounts, fees, and other settings that will help the market be both thick (read: enough transactions to be interesting) and safe for participants.

Test-net is in private invite only mode right now, we plan to open up to public submissions after we finish this private testing/tuning with our initial engine and micro-engine providers.

Security Industry

End users will benefit from PolySwarm by being exposed to better-valued services. We don't expect most end users to directly interact with the PolySwarm network; this is the role that Ambassadors fill.

PolySwarm Ambassadors will be today's familiar, existing AV companies (like AVAST) as well as new companies made possible by PolySwarm’s economic model.

We expect to see new companies acting as Ambassadors that serve as a direct conduit to the PolySwarm network. These new companies will exchange end user subscription fees for a convenient link to the PolySwarm network, handling Bounties and Offers on behalf of their end user customers. This new type of company will almost certainly have lower cost relative to monolithic offerings seen today. We believe this will translate into a better value for the end user.

In short: most end users will continue to engage with a subscription-based service, but will get more protection for less money due to the efficiencies made possible by PolySwarm's crowdsourced, distributed design.

It’s a different market and we wish them success. Hacken is decentralizing bug (vulnerability) bounties against corporate sites and software, basically security experts doing manual analysis against unique targets.

We’re pretty familiar with the bug bounty market: average transaction value is 400-500 USD per bounty. Hacken’s market requires manual review to evaluate if bounties are won or not. There’s probably on the order of 1000’s of transactions a year.

Conversely, PolySwarm deals with the sort of threat intelligence that can be *automated*, such as anti-virus. Anti-virus companies, worldwide, see billions of samples a day and probably 10’s of millions are unique. Transaction value ranges 0.0025-0.015 USD per file/url/artifact scan. All micro-engines and the vast majority of ground truth determination in PolySwarm will be automated.

Manual review of a smallish binary takes the better part of a day or two. Larger applications, we are talking many days or even weeks.

For the past 20 years we’ve had the same economic model for threat detection: centralize, hire a small team of developers locally, and de-prioritize R&D and addressing current threats once the company achieves customer stability.

Signature based antivirus companies try to solve for common "known" malware, but tend to fail to detect new threats. A market of single-vendor solutions rewards duplication of effort across vendors, discourages investment in specialized detection capabilities and encourages vendor lock-in via mutually incompatible software packages.

These companies are structured in a way that rewards chasing threats against widely used software. They are financially incentivized to go after large threats to maintain a large client base. And while widespread vulnerabilities are indeed a concern, each of us as individuals are much more likely to be hit by smaller everyday threats.

Our thesis has always been that security expertise works better in a competitive environment where they’re incentivized to stay up to date. That’s the gap we’re trying to fill: make it continually profitable to protect users.

PolySwarm is a decentralized anti-virus and cyber threat intelligence market made possible by Ethereum smart contracts and the blockchain.

PolySwarm brings enterprises, consumers, vendors and geographically-diverse security experts together into a single marketplace for more complete cyber threat detection. Experts craft and maintain competing software "micro-engines" that quickly identify the latest threats, attempting to outperform their competition. The combined protection of thousands of microengines allows for broader, faster coverage and more efficient threat intelligence.

(Steve, CEO) I grew up in a small farming town in California. Broke into a company’s computers when I was like, 11, they caught me but some of the IT guys took me under their wings and gave me a summer job through high school. That’s how I got started in security. From there, my team and I have built up Narf Industries and done a lot of cool projects for everyone from DARPA to Commercial clients. We’ve also played a lot of hacking competitions, or CTFs at Defcon and the like.

PolySwarm grew out of frustration we had doing work on Narf. We’d developed all these cool tools that had narrow, but, deep applications to cyber threat detection and mitigation but didn’t have a way to get them looking at real stuff the enterprise was facing. That’s why we made PolySwarm, we knew there were other small security shops like us that had tools that could protect users. Additionally, there was no good way to get access to all of these tools through one interface. That’s also where PolySwarm comes in: it serves a one big umbrella built from a collection of the best security expertise.

This economics problem: always incentivizing security experts to keep their solutions up to date for better protecting users against new threats. The problem is important because it ultimately increases costs for attackers by increasing compensation and vigilance for the defense across a wide range of viewpoints.

Blockchain

We’re currently developing a stress test that will get security experts on board. Security experts will be able to link us to suspect files in exchange for an airdrop of Nectar. These suspect files will be Bountied on the Ethereum testnet, testing our smart contracts and will be scanned by us (imitating a security expert). Our scanning will be done by ClamAV (an open source AV). Experts will be rewarded for submitting unique samples (and helping us stress test). One sample maximum per day, bonuses given for specific malware families, announced via our Telegram channel. PolySwarm targets security experts, whereas Crypto Kitties targets the public at large. What we’re building should be more limited in interest. Further, PolySwarm has built-in fees to deter spamming efforts.

There are several reasons, but <b>most importantly</b> a token insulates the ecosystem from the rapid fluctuation in the USD:ETH exchange rate. If would be quite bad if security experts withheld their expertise until a more favorable exchange rate was offered. By having our own token, the token’s utility should closely track the utility of the threat intelligence offered by the PolySwarm network, making it a no-brainer to contribute expertise irrespective of the USD:ETH exchange rate.

Nectar is PolySwarm’s token, and it allows the enterprises and users to obtain threat detection services from security experts, it’s essencintaly used as a currency for all transactions within the marketplace.

Blockchain technology - distributed, append-only ledgers, opened the door for distributed computing platforms. Ethereum is one such platform - allowing anyone to author smart contracts and execute them in a distributed, trust-minimal manner. We’re using smart contracts to intelligently design - literally program the rules of road: how market participants interact. What sort of behavior is rewarded. How rewards are dispersed, etc. Ethereum provides the basis for programmed, intelligent market design - something that was not possible only 4 years ago. PolySwarm is the application of this primitive to the threat intelligence space - something the PolySwarm team is intimately familiar with. PolySwarm will offer better incentives - a global, crowdsourced, community of security experts will compete against one another to best protect enterprises and end users. The economic mechanics are defined for all to see.

Nectar serves to isolate PolySwarm from external market forces, including the value of Ether (ETH) and the performance of applications that transact in Ether. Nectar-based isolation will allow for more consistency in PolySwarm market behavior, enabling participants to transact with greater confidence and reducing perverse incentives that would otherwise harm the PolySwarm Market.

We have several strategies to cope with congestion issues. First, Bounties will support "batching" artifacts. By that I mean an ambassador can submit a group of, say, 256 samples at once into a bounty without incurring individual bounty overhead. Similarly, assertions can be batched. Second, our Offer mechanism uses Raiden micro-channels to transact off-chain and periodically settle. Finally, we're looking forward to Ethereum's Plasma and Casper scalability improvements. If they go well, no issue. If they don't, we'll consider adopting a merkle hash tree into our own design for Bounties and Offers and explore alternative blockchains like QTUM and maybe EOS. Unfortunately no other blockchains are mature enough yet.

Can't find what you're looking for?

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to visit our Telegram. For technical questions, check out our Discord.